How Much Do Rovaniemi Day Tours Cost?
Rovaniemi tour prices compared: Northern Lights hunts from $55, snowmobile safaris from $99, reindeer and husky rides from about $70 to $268, and icebreaker cruises from $364. What each price includes and when paying more makes sense.
Most guided tours in Rovaniemi cost between about $55 and $270 per person. A guaranteed Northern Lights hunt is the cheapest, from $55; snowmobile safaris start from $99; and husky and reindeer prices depend mostly on how far you ride, from about $70 for a short ride to $268 for a long self-drive husky safari. The full-day icebreaker cruises on the Bothnian Bay coast cost from $364 to $567.

The main differences
- A good all-round choice: the Book Lapland Northern Lights tour, from $77, rated 4.8/5 from more than 2,600 reviews.
- The Northern Lights hunts cost much the same. Most cost $55 to $79 for five to eight hours, with photos and a refund or re-hunt if no aurora shows. The differences are the review record and whether warm clothing and hotel pickup are included.
- Husky and reindeer prices follow the distance. A 500 m reindeer ride costs from $97 and a 2 km ride from $200; a 1 km husky ride costs from $116 and a 5 km self-drive safari from $212.
- Snowmobile prices assume two people share a machine. Driving alone costs extra, and the driver is liable for damage up to about €950 to €1,000 (about $1,065 to $1,121).
- Meeting Santa is free. On a Santa Claus Village tour you pay for the transport, guide, lunch and animal rides.
- Everything is priced per person. At the starting price, two people on the Book Lapland tour pay $154 and four people pay $308.
The tour we’d compare first
For your first night out, the $77 Book Lapland aurora hunt costs $16 more than the $61 Aurora Hunt and has the second-longest review history of any Northern Lights tour in Rovaniemi. It is also the only guaranteed bus hunt whose listing lends Arctic overalls and boots (rated down to −40°C) if you need them; renting a set in town costs from $51. The guides drive up to 200 km to find a clear sky, photograph you under the aurora, and refund you if no aurora is captured.
The standard departure is a shared bus, so it suits travelers who want a reliable night at a low price and don’t mind a crowd at the viewing spot. If you would like a small group, our review of the Book Lapland tour explains what the upgrade involves.
If you only want the lights, at the lowest price
The $55 Experience Tours Lapland aurora hunt (4.8/5, more than 750 reviews) is the cheapest guaranteed hunt with a solid record. Its guarantee offers a free re-hunt or a refund. On the standard group tour you make your own way to the meeting point and bring your own warm clothing, so it is best if you already have Arctic gear.
If you would rather share the minibus with a few people
The small-group Northern Lights hunt from $79 (4.8/5, more than 550 reviews) costs only $2 more than the Book Lapland bus and includes hotel pickup and up to eight hours of chasing. You bring your own warm clothing. Another small-group hunt by car costs from $144 and is rated 4.9/5 from more than 350 reviews; its listing offers winter clothes on request, but food and drinks are extra.
A day with huskies, reindeer and Santa
The six-hour Reindeer, Huskies & Santa Claus Village day from $210 (4.6/5, more than 2,400 reviews) gives you a 500 m husky ride, a 500 m reindeer ride, a farm visit, a salmon soup lunch and free time in the village. It’s a good fit for families. If you want to drive your own sled for several kilometers, book a husky safari instead.
If a long drive behind the dogs matters
The Apukka 6 km self-drive husky safari from $245 (4.6/5, more than 1,500 reviews) gives you a longer run than the 5 km daytime safari from $212, plus transfers and winter clothing. For about $33 more than the 5 km safari, you get an extra kilometer on the trail. If you want the longest run, the 6–10 km safari costs the same $245 and is rated 4.9/5, from fewer reviews (more than 200).
Many visitors pair an evening Northern Lights hunt with a daytime husky safari, a reindeer farm visit, a snowmobile safari or a walk across the Arctic Circle at Santa Claus Village, and some add the icebreaker cruise from Kemi or a winter hike in Korouoma Canyon. Here are other experiences around Rovaniemi:
What does each type of tour cost?
| Type of tour | Price per person | Typical length | What changes the price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern Lights hunt by minibus or bus | $55 to $144 | 5 to 8 hours | Group size, hotel pickup, warm clothing |
| Northern Lights by sleigh, snowtrain or snowmobile | $86 to $155 | 3 to 4.5 hours | The vehicle, and how long you drive |
| Husky ride or safari | $70 to $268 | 30 minutes to 5 hours | Distance, and whether you drive the sled |
| Reindeer ride | $97 to $223 | 2 to 3.5 hours | Distance, from 500 m to about 2.5 km |
| Snowmobile safari | $99 to $212 | 2 to 6 hours | Driving time, pickup, lunch and ice fishing |
| Santa Claus Village and combination days | $133 to $245 | 3 to 6 hours | Which rides, lunch and a meeting with Santa |
| Icebreaker cruise on the Bothnian Bay | $364 to $567 | Up to 11 hours with transfers | Ship, lunch and transfers |
Prices checked October 2026. Operators use dynamic pricing, so these figures are a guide; check the booking page for the current price. Every tour on this page links to its GetYourGuide listing, with its rating and review count beside it, and a low review count is a reason to read the reviews before booking. Euro amounts are converted at €1 = $1.1208 (European Central Bank, October 15, 2026); dollar figures are approximate.
Northern Lights tours
Around $55 to $80: the guaranteed bus and minibus hunts. These tours run for five to eight hours, follow the clearest forecast and include photos of you under the aurora. At the same $77, the Northern Lights tour with the most reviews in Rovaniemi (4.7/5, nearly 4,500 reviews) and the Book Lapland tour are hard to separate; the Book Lapland listing includes overalls and boots, while the other’s listing doesn’t mention clothing.
A small group costs from $79. You share the vehicle with a handful of people and get hotel pickup, and the night follows the same plan with fewer people at the viewing spot. The small group by car from $144 costs almost twice as much for a similar night.
Around $86 to $155: a ride to a fixed camp. These go out by sleigh, snowtrain or snowmobile to a campfire spot outside town. There is no long drive after clear skies, and none of their listings offers a refund if the sky stays cloudy. Their ratings are lower than the hunts’ (4.0 to 4.3). We’d book one for the ride itself.
| Tour | From | Length | Rating | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern Lights Hunt with Guarantee & Free Photos | $55 | 5–8 h | 4.8 (762) | Photos, re-hunt or refund; no hotel pickup or overalls on the group tour |
| Northern Lights Hunters: Aurora + BBQ | $58 | 3 h | 4.7 (180) | Campfire barbecue, two lakes; no guarantee or photographer |
| Aurora Hunt – 100% Guaranteed, Free Photos | $61 | 6–8 h | 4.8 (1,344) | Photos, 1–3 guides, hot drinks |
| Northern Lights Guarantee – 100% Refund + Photos | $61 | 5–6 h | 4.8 (145) | Hotel pickup, photos, refund; bring your own warm clothing |
| Northern Lights Tour – 100% Guaranteed & Photos | $66 | 6–8 h | 4.9 (574) | Photos, refund; bring your own warm clothing |
| Northern Lights Tour – 100% Guarantee & Photos (Book Lapland) | $77 | 5–8 h | 4.8 (2,678) | Overalls and boots if needed, photos, refund |
| Northern Lights Tour with Guaranteed Sightings | $77 | 6–8 h | 4.7 (4,490) | Photos, refund, cross-border hunting |
| Exclusive Northern Lights Small Group & Guarantee | $79 | 8 h | 4.8 (556) | Small group, pickup, photos; bring your own warm clothing |
| Northern Lights Sledge Ride | $86 | 3 h | 4.1 (780) | Two-hour sleigh ride, winter clothing |
| Northern Lights Snowmobile/Sleigh Hunt with BBQ | $99 | 2.5–4 h | 4.0 (776) | About an hour on a snowmobile, campfire barbecue |
| Snowtrain to Northern Lights Camp | $125 | 4.5 h | 4.0 (203) | Snowtrain ride, about two hours at a campfire camp |
| Small Group Northern Lights Hunt | $144 | 8 h | 4.9 (358) | Car, hotel pickup, photos; food extra |
| Aurora Borealis Snowmobile Safari with Campfire | $155 | 4 h | 4.3 (1,138) | About two hours on a shared snowmobile |
Our Northern Lights guide covers the season and what the guarantees cover.
Husky rides
The price of a husky tour mostly depends on how far you ride and whether you drive the sled yourself.
Around $70 to $125: a short ride. The Santa Claus Village husky ride from $70 (4.7/5, more than 1,500 reviews) is a 2.5 km run of seven to twelve minutes, with no transfer or winter clothing. A farm visit with a 1 km ride costs from $116.
Around $200 to $270: a self-drive safari. You drive your own team for 4 to 10 km, with transfers and winter clothing included; on the 5 km safari two adults share each team. The 5 km daytime husky safari from $212 is about 20 to 30 minutes on the trail; at $245 the 6–10 km husky safari with transfers (4.9/5, more than 200 reviews) gives you 30 to 50 minutes.
One cheap exception: the 7.5 km Lapland Wilderness husky safari lists a 7 km self-drive from $77 but is rated 4.2/5 from about 100 reviews. Read the recent ones before booking.
| Tour | From | Length | Rating | On the trail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Santa Claus Village Husky Ride | $70 | 30 min | 4.7 (1,587) | 2.5 km, 7–12 minutes |
| Lapland Wilderness Husky Safari 7.5 km | $77 | 1.5–4 h | 4.2 (103) | 7 km, self-drive |
| Husky Farm Visit with a Sledge Ride | $116 | 2 h | 4.2 (244) | 1 km |
| Husky Sled Ride and Farm Visit | $123 | 2 h | 3.9 (304) | Distance not stated |
| Husky Safari with 1, 5, 10 & 20 km Options | $159 | 2.5–4.5 h | 4.2 (842) | Choose 1 to 20 km |
| Daytime Husky Safari | $212 | 1.5 h | 4.6 (1,037) | 5 km self-drive, 20–30 minutes |
| Husky Experience and Sled Ride with Pro Photos | $218 | 2 h | 4.8 (138) | 3 km as a passenger, edited photos |
| 4–5 km Self-Drive Husky Sled | $230 | 3 h | 4.6 (284) | 4–5 km self-drive, about 30 minutes |
| Apukka Husky Adventure 6 km, Self-Driven | $245 | 3.5 h | 4.6 (1,569) | 6 km self-drive |
| Husky Safari with Transfers & BBQ | $245 | 4 h | 4.9 (220) | 6–10 km self-drive, 30–50 minutes |
| Drive Your Own Husky Team (5–8 km) & BBQ | $268 | 5 h | 4.4 (460) | 5–8 km self-drive, barbecue, groups of up to 8 |
Our husky rides guide explains how to choose a distance.
Reindeer rides
Around $97 to $99: a 500 m ride and a farm visit. The reindeer farm visit with a 500 m sleigh ride from $97 (4.2/5, more than 1,500 reviews) includes winter clothing and transport from the city center.
Around $200 to $223: a 2 to 3 km ride. The 2 km ride takes about 40 minutes in the sleigh through the forest, and most of these tours include time to feed the reindeer. The 2 km reindeer sled ride from $200 (4.8/5, 275 reviews) has the highest rating of the longer rides, and the local reindeer farm visit from $207 adds hotel pickup and edited photos.
| Tour | From | Length | Rating | In the sleigh |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reindeer Experience with Sleigh Ride | $97 | 2.5 h | 4.2 (1,584) | 500 m |
| Reindeer Farm Tour with Sledge Ride & Pickup | $99 | 2 h | 3.9 (127) | Distance not stated |
| 2 km Reindeer Sled Ride Through the Forest | $200 | 3 h | 4.8 (275) | 2–2.5 km, about 40 minutes |
| Local Reindeer Farm Visit with Sleigh Ride | $207 | 3 h | 4.7 (345) | 2 km, photos, hotel pickup |
| 2–3 km Sustainable Reindeer Journey | $212 | 3.5 h | 4.5 (1,022) | 2–3 km |
| Reindeer Safari & Sled Ride with Sámi Heritage | $223 | 3 h | 4.5 (105) | 2.5 km, reindeer driving license |
More on the farms and ride lengths in our reindeer rides guide.
Snowmobile safaris
Most snowmobile safaris cost $99 to $133 for roughly an hour to an hour and a half of driving, with two people sharing each machine. Within that range the main differences are hotel pickup and group size. The 2025-snowmobile safari from $133 (4.7/5, more than 2,200 reviews) caps groups at five snowmobiles per guide but starts from its office in town, with no hotel pickup.
For $212, the snowmobile and ice fishing day (4.8/5, more than 900 reviews) gives you two to two and a half hours of driving, ice fishing and a soup lunch outdoors.
Two costs to check before you book. Driving alone costs extra: on the guided wilderness snowmobile adventure the supplement is €60 (about $67) per person. And the driver is liable for damage in an accident, up to €950 (about $1,065) on the 2025-snowmobile safari and €1,000 (about $1,121) on the wilderness adventure.
| Tour | From | Length | Rating | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arctic Snowmobiling Ride with Local Guide | $99 | 3–4 h | 4.6 (936) | Transfer from the office, snack; no hotel pickup |
| Easy Snowmobile Safari | $111 | 2.5–3.5 h | 4.8 (338) | Transport from meeting points, full gear |
| Snowmobile Safari Adventure with Combo Options | $113 | 2.5–4.5 h | 4.5 (2,404) | About an hour of driving, pickup from selected hotels |
| Guided Wilderness Snowmobile Adventure | $115 | 2 h | 4.7 (783) | Small group, hotel transfer; snacks extra |
| Drive New 2025 Snowmobiles on Arctic Safari | $133 | 3 h | 4.7 (2,288) | About an hour of driving, up to five machines per guide |
| 2-Hour Snowmobiling Experience | $133 | 2–3 h | 4.6 (1,247) | 1 to 1.5 hours of driving |
| Family Snowmobiling Trip | $144 | 4 h | 4.7 (156) | 10–20 km ride, mini snowmobiles for children |
| Guided Lapland Snowmobile Adventure | $185 | 4 h | 4.9 (121) | Van transport, warm drinks |
| Snowmobile and Ice Fishing Adventure with Lunch | $212 | 5–6 h | 4.8 (924) | 2–2.5 hours of driving, ice fishing, lunch |
Our snowmobile tours guide covers licenses, age limits and the insurance terms.
Santa Claus Village and combination days
Meeting Santa at Santa Claus Office is free of charge, according to the village’s own website. On these tours you pay for the transport, guide and lunch, and for the husky and reindeer rides on the combination days. The rides on combination days are short, usually 400 to 500 m each.
Two listings with identical inclusions show why it pays to compare: both offer a husky ride, a reindeer ride, a meeting with Santa and a guided village tour, but the four-hour Santa Claus Village combo costs from $213 and is rated 4.4/5 from 67 reviews, while the other four-hour combo costs from $224 and is rated 3.9/5 from more than 130 reviews.
| Tour | From | Length | Rating | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Santa Claus Village and Arctic Circle | $133 | 3.5 h | 4.3 (364) | Lunch buffet, Arctic Circle certificate |
| Santa Claus Village Visit with Lunch | $168 | 3 h | 4.7 (37) | Lunch buffet, hotel pickup; overalls €10 (about $11) extra |
| Husky and Reindeer Experience | $182 | 3.5 h | 4.3 (555) | 500 m husky and 500 m reindeer rides |
| Reindeer, Huskies & Santa Claus Village | $210 | 6 h | 4.6 (2,417) | Both rides, salmon soup lunch, time in the village |
| Snowmobile Tour and Reindeer Experience | $210 | 3.5 h | 4.7 (123) | One-hour snowmobile ride, reindeer sled ride |
| Santa Claus Village + Husky & Reindeer Sled Ride | $213 | 4 h | 4.4 (67) | Both rides, meeting Santa, hotel pickup; lunch extra |
| Husky & Reindeer Experience with Snowmobile Ride | $222 | 6 h | 4.6 (1,292) | Both rides plus a shared snowmobile ride; food extra |
| Santa Claus Village + Husky & Reindeer Sled Ride (second listing) | $224 | 4 h | 3.9 (134) | Same inclusions as the $213 listing |
| Meet Santa Claus, Reindeer Sleigh Ride & Huskies | $245 | 5 h | 4.7 (108) | Small van, meeting Santa, Arctic Circle certificate; food extra |
Our Santa Claus Village guide covers what you can do there for free.
Icebreaker cruises
The icebreaker cruises are the most expensive day out from Rovaniemi and take most of the day, because the ships sail on the Bothnian Bay coast. All three include floating in the sea ice in a survival suit.
| Tour | From | Length | Rating | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Icebreaker Cruise with Ice Floating and Walking on Ice (Polar Explorer) | $364 | 3–8.5 h | 4.7 (490) | Walk on the sea ice, tour of seven decks; transfers from Rovaniemi optional, meals extra |
| Icebreaker Arktis Cruise with Ice Floating | $461 | 10 h | 4.4 (401) | Three-hour cruise, shuttle bus; meals extra |
| Icebreaker Sampo Cruise with Ice Floating | $567 | 10–11 h | 4.6 (245) | 3.5–4-hour cruise, shuttle bus, lunch on the afternoon cruise |
The Polar Explorer cruise costs less, but transfers from Rovaniemi are an option on its listing, so check what your date’s price includes. On the Sampo cruise, the morning sailing includes no breakfast or lunch.
What stays the same whatever you pay
Every tour on this page offers free cancellation on its listing. Every guided tour here has a live guide, and daytime husky, reindeer and snowmobile tours usually lend thermal overalls and boots. Paying more doesn’t get you a different forest or a brighter aurora. It gets you more time on the sled or snowmobile, a smaller group, hotel pickup or lunch.
Extra costs to plan for
- Warm clothing for a Northern Lights hunt. Several of the cheaper hunts ask you to bring your own. A winter clothing set to rent costs from $51 for 1 to 10 days.
- Driving a snowmobile alone, and the driver’s damage liability. The family snowmobiling trip lets you cut it from €980 to €250 (about $1,098 to $280) with optional insurance.
- Lunch on the four-hour Santa Claus Village combos and on the Arktis cruise.
- The official photo with Santa on the SantaPark ticket from $47.
For a cheaper day, the Korouoma Canyon frozen waterfalls hike costs from $78 for seven hours in a group of up to eight (4.9/5, more than 1,600 reviews), and a RoKi ice hockey ticket costs from $21.
Tours that offer less for the price
- The husky sled ride and farm visit costs from $123 and is rated 3.9/5 from about 300 reviews; the farm visit with a 1 km ride costs $7 less and is rated higher.
- The reindeer farm tour with pickup costs from $99 and is rated 3.9/5 from about 125 reviews; the 500 m ride from $97 has a much longer record.
- The $224 Santa Claus Village combo duplicates the $213 one for more money and a lower rating.
Should you pay more?
Pay more on a husky or reindeer tour if the ride itself is what you came for, because the extra money mostly buys distance on the trail. On a Northern Lights hunt, the $55 to $79 bus tours suit most people; the small group from $144 is for travelers who want a quieter night and hotel pickup. If you only want to say you’ve done it, the short rides and the combination day cover the animals for less.
Frequently asked questions
A guaranteed Northern Lights hunt costs from about $55 to $79 per person, a snowmobile safari from $99, a short reindeer or husky ride from about $70 to $125, and a longer self-drive husky safari or 2 km reindeer ride from about $200 to $268. A combination day with huskies, reindeer and Santa Claus Village starts from $210, and the icebreaker cruises from $364 to $567. Prices checked October 2026; they change with the date you pick.
Yes. Every tour compared on this page is priced per person, including the snowmobile safaris, where the price assumes two people share one machine. At the starting price, two people on the Book Lapland Northern Lights tour pay $154 and four people pay $308.
Usually not for daytime husky, reindeer and snowmobile tours, which lend thermal overalls and boots. Several of the cheaper Northern Lights hunts do not, so check the inclusions before you book. A winter clothing set to rent in Rovaniemi costs from $51 for 1 to 10 days.
Usually, if short rides are enough for you. The six-hour combination day from $210 includes a 500 m husky ride, a 500 m reindeer ride, free time in Santa Claus Village and a salmon soup lunch, while a 500 m reindeer ride alone costs from $97. For a longer husky drive or a 2 km reindeer ride, book those separately.
Meeting Santa at Santa Claus Office in Santa Claus Village is free of charge, according to the village's own website. On the Santa tours you pay for the transport, guide, lunch and any husky or reindeer rides; on the SantaPark ticket from $47 the official photo with Santa is extra.
Chase the Aurora — 100% Sighting Guarantee
Join 2,600+ travelers who rated this Northern Lights hunt 4.8/5. Live aurora tracking, up to 200 km of chasing, free photos, and a full refund if no aurora is captured on camera. Free cancellation.
Check Availability & Book